FOREVER & A DAY

Dike Chiedozié's Blog

I woke with a headache in the middle of the night and was going to ask Adrienne to pass me my bottle of aspirin. And then I remembered.
I turned on the bedside lamp and rolled over to the other side of the bed. Adrienne’s side. The empty side.
The aspirin bottle was in the bedside drawer and as I shook out two tablets and dry-swallowed them I wondered why I’d always kept my medication in the bedside drawer on Adrienne’s side of the bed when I could easily have kept them on my side without occasionally having to wake Adrienne up in the middle of the night when I had my headache spells.
I flopped back in bed, lying on Adrienne’s side and inhaling the faint scent of her cologne. The fragrance of summer oranges so faint sometimes I believed I imagined it. And to think I had hated…

View original post 706 more words

Leave a Reply

